Request a Resource
From www.taylor.edu - Taylor University, integrating faith and learning

C.S. Lewis & Friends on:

Male and Female Identity

 

Bartels, G. "Of Men and Mice: C. S. Lewis on Male-Female Interactions." Literature and Theology 22.3 (2008): 324-38. Print. 
             a copy of this paper is available in the Brown Collection (Zondervan 012)

Enright, Nancy. "Tolkien's Females and the Defining of Power." Renaissance 59.2 (2007): n. pag. Print.
              available in print Zondervan Library

Fredrick, Candice. Women among the Inklings: Gender, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and Charles Williams. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2001. Print.
             
Brown  820.9 F87w 
              Main Collection: 820.9 F87w

Gaarden, Bonnie. The Christian Goddess: Archetype and Theology in the Fantasies of George MacDonald. Madison [N.J.: Fairleigh Dickinson UP, 2011. Print. 
              Brown 823.8 M14ZGC

Hilder, Monika B. The Feminine Ethos in C.S. Lewis's Chronicles of Narnia. New York: Peter Lang, 2012.
              Brown 823.912 L58HF

Hilder, Monika B. The Gender Dance. New York: Peter Lang, 2013.
              Brown 823.912 L58HG

Hilder, Monika B. Surprised by the Feminine. New York: Peter Lang, 2013.
              Brown 823.912 L58HS

Holbrook, David. A Study of George MacDonald and the Image of Woman. Lewiston, NY: Edwin Mellen, 2000. Print.
              Brown 823.8M14H

Lewis, C. S., and Walter Hooper. “Equality” Present Concerns. San Diego: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1986. Print.
              Brown 828.9 L58P
              Main Collection: 828.9 L58P

Lewis, C. S. The Four Loves. New York: Harcourt, Brace, 1960. Print. 
              Brown 241 L58
              Main Collection: 241 L58 HARV

Lewis, C. S. “Priestesses in the Church” God in the Dock: Essays on Theology and Ethics. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1970. Print.
              Brown 201 L58
              Main Collection: 201 L58 

Lewis, C. S. Mere Christianity: “Christian Marriage” A Revised and Enlarged Edition, with a New Introduction, of the Three Books The Case for Christianity, Christian Behaviour, and Beyond Personality. New York: Macmillan, 1952. Print.
               Brown 204 L58M
               Main Collection: 204 L58M

“Lewis, C. S. “Ministering Angels” Of Other Worlds: Essays and Stories. New York: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1975. Print.
               Brown 828.9 L58W
               Main Collection: 828.9 L58W

Sayers, Dorothy L. Are Women Human?: Astute and Witty Essays on the Role of Women n Society. Grand Rapids: William B. Eerdmans, 2005. Print. 
               Brown 301.412 Sa99a
               Main Collection: 301.412 Sa99a

Tolkien, J.R.R. "#43." Letter to Michael Tolkien. N.d. The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company,1981.pp.48-49. Print. 
               Brown 828 T57L
               Main Collection: 828.912 T57L

Van, Leeuwen Mary Stewart. A Sword between the Sexes?: C.S. Lewis and the Gender Debates. Grand Rapids, MI: Brazos, 2010. 
               Brown 823.912 L58SS

Talairach-Vielmas, Laurence. Moulding the Female Body in Victorian Fairy Tales and Sensation Novels. Aldershot, Hants, England: Ashgate, 2007. Print.
               full text @Taylor