Request a Resource
From www.taylor.edu - Taylor University, integrating faith and learning

Confused? Need assistance?    Ask-A-Librarian for help.

One of the least favorite aspects of the research process is CITING. It's true. Very few people enjoy figuring out the minute details required by each style guide. This page will direct you to the manuals and handbooks that explain the styles and what to do with each type of cited document (book, journal article, web site, etc.). You will find examples of citations in most of the resources (both book and web) listed on this page.

 

Useful Style Guides, Manuals, and Handbooks

  • MLA handbook for writers of research papers. 2009. Ref 808.027 G35M
  • Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (APA). 2009. Ref 808.06615 Am35P
  • Concise rules of APA style. 2009. Ref 808.06615 C748
  • The Chicago manual of style. 2003. Ref 808.042 Un3c 2003
  • A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations: Chicago style for students and researchers (Turabian). 2007. Ref 808.02 T84m
  • The SBL handbook of style: For ancient Near Eastern, Biblical, and early Christian studies. 1999. Ref 808.027 Sb41
  • Scientific style and format: The CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers. 2006. Ref 808.066 Sci27C
  • AMA manual of style: A guide for authors and editors. 2007.  Ref 808.06661 Am11 2007
  • The Columbia guide to online style. 1998. Ref 808.027 W15c
  • Electronic styles: A handbook for citing electronic information. 1996.  Ref 808.02 L61e 1996
  • Stylebook and briefing on media law. 2007. Main Collection 808.066 St99A

 

Helpful Hints

  • Use the features in Databases, Primo, and WorldCat.org to have citations created for the materials you discover. Nearly every database and catalog has the capability of creating the citation, with all the necessary information, in multiple formats (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.) to be ready for your Works Cited, Bibliography, or Reference List page.
  • Plagiarism is a big deal, a huge problem in academia. It might seem hard to avoid at first, but once you understand the basic methods of avoiding plagiarism, you should be well on your way to writing a strong paper that is all your own. Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) has a series of pages that describe plagiarism and how to avoid it.
  • Zotero can store your citations, create bibliographies, and even format an entire paper in the correct citation style (they have hundreds to choose from). This is a free tool available to students and anyone, anywhere. 

 

Citation Style Information on the Web

The Citation Machine

A very useful tool for constructing citations in APA (American Psychological Association) format or MLA (Modern Language Association format) is The Citation Machine. It is especially valuable because it gives you guidance in citing many different formats from books and journal articles to web pages and personal email messages. The Citation Machine requires that you identify the pieces of information for which it asks. No punctuation is required but you do need to use capitalization where appropriate.

 

Citation Guides from University of Wisconsin-Madison

Has sections devoted to quoting and paraphrasing sources and numbered references, as well as these styles: APSA (American Political Science Association), APA (American Psychological Association), Chicago/Turbian, CBE (Council of Editors), and MLA (Modern Languages Association).

 

The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (MLA)

 

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA Style Manual)

This is the standard guide to citation formatting for much publication in the social and behavioral sciences. In addition to formatting citations and bibliography, it provides many guidelines on presenting data and other publication matters

 

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian)

 

The Chicago Manual of Style

 

Council of Science Editors Citation Guide (CSE), used to be CBE

This is a style manual widely used in the life sciences.

 

American Medical Association Manual of Style (AMA)

 


Ask-A-Librarian for more information.

 

Created by Lana Wilson, Research Librarian

Last revised September 27, 2016 - 07:38 AM