Country Information Research Guide
Unsure where to start your research? For courses and assignments related to individual nations around the world, this is the place. Browse through the resources below to find online articles and eBooks, along with print books and other resources in the Zondervan Library.
Make an appointment with a librarianif you would like help getting started or using Library tools.
The following collection of resources is most useful for the research of country information. Please contact a Librarian if you have difficulty accessing any of these resources.
- Business Source Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,210 titles, including scholarly journals and general business periodicals in fields of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and
more. Full-text articles available for 1,520 titles. Also features Country Monitor and Industry Yearbook Reports from WEFA, 35 country reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), and Wall Street Words (dictionary of financial terms).
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
CIAO is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, publishing a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world in a concise and useful form. Includes cultural, political, economic, and business information and maps.
- Library PressDisplay
With more than 500 newspapers from Algeria to Zimbabwe available the day they are published, PressDisplay offers current world news coverage like no other service out there. Not only can you read the latest edition of these papers online, you can print, email, or even blog an article. "Smart navigating" for select newspapers allows you to hear an audio version of an article and create an English (or other) translation. You can also search for keywords across the newspapers available through PressDisplay. The up-to-date coverage goes back 60 days, thus providing only the most current news.
- Mango Languages (Trial)
Mango Languages is a website that offers 65 language courses and ESL instruction in 17 languages. Including Spanish, Koine Greek, Biblical Hebrew, Mandarin Chinese, Korean, and several versions of Arabic. Mango Languages is a effective and multi-learning style approach to learning language both for the casual traveler and the serious cross-lingual speaker.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, the statistical information within this source provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Other information with the statistics includes source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information. Many of the statsitical presentations and graphs are downloadable for cited appropriate use.
Other Useful Databases
Though the following databases are not specific only to the subject of this guide, they will have relevant and useful resources in them. Give them a try!
- Academic Search Premier
Covers a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general science, education. It provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals, plus the Wall Street Journal, New York Times and Christian Science Monitor. Full-text articles are available for 1,000+ journals, with 380+ titles from 1990-present. Academic ebooks include over 125,000 titles from leading publishers on subjects from Art, Business & Economics, Education, Language Arts & Discipline, Literary Criticism, Medical, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science, Religion, Social Science, Technology & Engineering.
- Google Scholar
A more narrow, manageable, and reliable set of information from the Google web--determined "scholarly" and thus more appropriate for research projects. Though not all results will be available for free, Google Scholar is an excellent identification tool from which you can search library databases or request articles and book chapters through Zondervan's Interlibrary Loan service. The advanced search screen allows you to specify phrases to search, words to exclude, author last names, and even subject categories.
Provides searchable full text of the complete back files for hundreds of important scholarly journals in a broad spectrum of topics and disciplines. Coverage generally includes the first volume through issues published prior to the most recent 3-5 years (current issues are not available in JSTOR).
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to a variety of full-text sources, including world-wide newspapers, magazines, news wires, and trade journals. Also features government documents, state & federal laws and regulations, case law, company and industry information, reference directories and biographical sources. Strong coverage of current events and information.
- Find books, as well as a variety of other physical materials in the Zondervan Library, along with a plethora of online resources, like eBooks and magazine and journal articles.
- Use the Advanced search option to specify material type, language, and publication date.
- Listed under Essential Tools on the Library's home page.
- Find books, among other things, to request via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
We have collected several free web resources that are relevant for acquiring information on specific Country data from around the world. Access them on the Web Resources page.
Additional Research Tools
Should you have a need for our diverse online Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and biographies), peruse the following tools to access thousands of articles and reports available online.
- Credo Reference
A conglomeration of specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias that allows you to search for definitions and encyclopedia articles, as well as develop ideas for expanding or refining a research strategy.
- Oxford Reference
Search by keyword, or choose particular subjects and select individual Oxford Press books within which to search. Broad subject coverage.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Biography in Context
Find background information about people, authors, famous personalities, and others. Search by first or last name.
- Contemporary Authors
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
One of the least favorite aspects of research papers are the citations, documenting the sources where you gleaned your information. To make that a little easier, the Library offers a few resources.
The Chicago Manual of Style.
Call #: Reference & Main Collections 808.042 Un3c
Freely accessible on the web, this citation tool is an addon for Mozilla's Firefox browser, but also works in a slightly different manner with Safari and Chrome. Using Zotero you can capture citations, store them (along with the pdfs), produce bibliographies and works cited pages, and more in record time. It has an addon for MS Word to enable in-text citations and insertion of bibliographies. Recommended by librarians everywhere.
Automatically Generated Citations
can be found in most databases (like Academic Search Premier, PsycINFO, Communications and Mass Media Complete, etc.). Databases often provide an instant citation in a several different styles.
"Cite this item" within an individual item record lists the citation in APA, MLA, Chicago, and other styles.
Citation Style Guide
A specialized guide for the variety of citation styles used on this campus. Provides call numbers for print Style Manuals and Handbooks in the library as well as links to online help from several different universities around the States.
The Writing Center
Available in the Library and open 3-5p and 7-10p on Mon.-Thurs. Students can find individual guidance from English majors with any aspect of the process for writing and editing a paper, including citation questions. For more information, see their page on myTaylor, or you can contact them at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Product descriptions on this page are incorporated from reviews and product descriptions from various sources.
Created by Lana Wilson, Research LibrarianLast revised May 31, 2012 - 03:56 PM