Confused? Need assistance? Ask-A-Librarian for help.
Education Research Guide
Unsure where to start your research? For Education courses and assignments, this is the place. Browse through the resources below to find online articles and eBooks, along with print books and other resources in the Zondervan Library.
Make an appointment with your librarian, Laurie Wolcott, if you would like help getting started or using Library tools.
Finding Articles
The following collection of resources is most useful for the research of Education students. Please contact a Librarian if you have difficulty accessing any of these resources.
- ARTstor (Trial - 04/22/2013 to 05/22/2013 )
The ARTstor Digital Library is an educational resource that shares more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. The community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates.
To best take advantage of the ARTstor resources, Register an account. This will allow you create image groups, download images, export to PowerPoint, and more.
- ERIC
Covers all aspects of education with full-text access to most ERIC documents from 1993 - present. Indexes curriculum materials, teaching guides, lesson plans, program descriptions, research reports, conference proceedings, plus articles from over 800 educational and education-related journals. Citation and abstract coverage: 1966 - present.
- MAS Ultra - School Edition
For High School level research, including magazines, journals, pamphlets, and general reference information.
- Middle Search Plus
For Middle School level research, focusing on magazines, pamplets, general reference, and book reviews.
- Primary Search
Designed for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms, featuring children's magazines, pamphlets, and reference materials.
- Professional Development Collection
Offers full-text access for over 430 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education, in addition to abstracts and indexing for 345 professional development titles.
- PsycINFO
Contains citations, most with abstracts, for more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages, as well as books, dissertations, and technical reports. Offers full-text access to more than fifty periodicals.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology research database that covers the field of sociology in general as well as many related disciplines, such as anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, social psychology, social work, sociology of education, and urban studies.
- Statista (Trial)
Categorized into 21 market sectors, the statistical information within this source provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Other information with the statistics includes source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information. Many of the statsitical presentations and graphs are downloadable for cited appropriate use.
- Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC)
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? This database offers thousands of college and graduate school entries and can help you to identify scholarships that meet your financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.
Other Useful Databases
Though the following databases are not specific only to the subject of this guide, they will have relevant and useful resources in them. Give them a try!
- JSTOR
Provides searchable full text of the complete back files for hundreds of important scholarly journals in a broad spectrum of topics and disciplines. Coverage generally includes the first volume through issues published prior to the most recent 3-5 years (current issues are not available in JSTOR).
- ProjectMUSE
Provides full-text access to current content from over 400 journal titles covering topics predominantly in the humanities and social sciences, specifically including subject areas like Latin American studies, International Relations, Religion, Politics, Philosophy, Literature, Film and Theater, as well as History and many more.
Finding Books
- Primo
- Find books, as well as a variety of other physical materials in the Zondervan Library, along with a plethora of online resources, like eBooks and magazine and journal articles.
- Use the Advanced search option to specify material type, language, and publication date.
- WorldCat
- Listed under Essential Tools on the Library's home page.
- Find books, among other things, to request via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Finding Journals
-
Journal Finder
Search by Journal Title keyword for online full-text journals and to see what the Library has in print. -
Click here for an Education Subject Search in the Jounal Finder to find out what journals (and how many) we have available both in print and online. Click on the blue links to enter the actual list of titles. The numbers in parentheses beside the subject indicate how many journal titles are included in that subject area. It offers subdisciplines, so browse through to find more specific journals for your topic.
Level-Specific Resources
You may find need for grade level-specific, current Curriculum Standards and materials. These two sources will offer helpful tools:
- Kids Search
Click on "Teacher Resources" button on Right side of page.
Locate "Curriculum Standards" box on Left side of page.
Choose your State to view the Standards.
- Student Research Center
Click on "Teacher Resources" button on Right side of page.
Locate "Curriculum Standards" box on Left side of page.
Choose your State to view the Standards.
You may also find these tools, provided for free by the Indiana State Library, to be useful as you teach or prepare lessons for K-12 classrooms.
- KidsClick!
Age-appropriate web sites
- TeachingBooks.net
"Adds a mulitmedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books," perfect for fiction and nonfiction books in the K-12 environment. *You will need to "authorize" your use of this tool through the school where you are student teaching.
Web Resources
We have collected several free web resources that are relevant for Business research. Access them on the Web Resources page.
Additional Research Tools
Should you have a need for our diverse online Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and biographies), peruse the following tools to access thousands of articles and reports available online.
- Credo Reference
A conglomeration of specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias that allows you to search for definitions and encyclopedia articles, as well as develop ideas for expanding or refining a research strategy.
- Oxford Reference
Search by keyword, or choose particular subjects and select individual Oxford Press books within which to search. Broad subject coverage.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Biography in Context
Find background information about people, authors, famous personalities, and others. Search by first or last name.
- Contemporary Authors
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
Citation Help
One of the least favorite aspects of research papers are the citations, documenting the sources where you gleaned your information. To make that a little easier, the Library offers a few resources.
-
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (APA).
Call #: Reference & Main Collections 808.06615 Am35P -
Concise rules of APA style.
Call #: Main Collection 808.06615 C748 -
Zotero
Freely accessible on the web, this citation tool is an addon for Mozilla's Firefox browser. With Zotero you can capture citations, store them (along with the pdfs), produce bibliographies and works cited pages, and more. It has an addon for MS Word to enable in-text citations and insertion of bibliographies. Recommended by librarians everywhere! -
Automatically Generated Citations
can be found in our Library Catalog (to the right of the item on the Results page), as well as in most databases (like Academic Search Premier, PsycINFO, Communications and Mass Media Complete, etc.). Databases often provide an instant citation in a couple of different styles. -
WorldCat.org
"Cite this item" within an individual item record lists the citation in APA, MLA, Chicago, and other styles. -
Citation Style Guide
A specialized guide for the variety of citation styles used on this campus. Provides call numbers for print Style Manuals and Handbooks in the library as well as links to online help from several different universities around the States. -
The Writing Center
Available in the Library and open 3-5p and 7-10p on Mon.-Thurs. Students can find individual guidance from English majors with any aspect of the process for writing and editing a paper, including citation questions. For more information, see their page on myTaylor, or you can contact them at writingctr@taylor.edu.
Created by Lana Wilson, Research Librarian
Product descriptions on this page are incorporated from reviews and product descriptions from various sources.
Last revised May 31, 2012 - 04:58 PM
