Confused? Need assistance? Ask-A-Librarian for help.
Environmental Science Research Guide
Unsure where to start your research? For Environmental Science courses and assignments, this is the place. Browse through the resources below to find online articles and eBooks, along with print books and other resources in the Zondervan Library.
Make an appointment with your librarian, Shawn Denny, if you would like help getting started or using Library tools.
The following collection of resources is most useful for the research of Environmental Science students. Please contact a Librarian if you have difficulty accessing any of these resources.
Agricola indexes resources in agriculture, chemistry, the life sciences representing the holdings of the National Agricultural Library. 1970 to present.
Provides full-text access to many important journals in the biological sciences, mostly those which are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Examples of journal titles indexed include American Zoologist, The Auk, Wetlands, and Journal of Paleontology.
- BioOne Abstracts & Indexes
This database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance and Allen Press. It provides a unique aggregation of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals from around 70 publishers.
- BIOSIS Previews®
Provides comprehensive worldwide coverage of research in the biological and biomedical sciences published in the English language. Subjects covered include biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, ecology, genetic engineering, genetics, microbiology, and more.
(See Dan Bowell to use this database.)
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including scholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as full-text access for more than 4,700 records.
- Public Library of Science (PLoS)
PLoS publishes peer-reviewed, open access scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles. Includes subjects in biology, medicine, computational biology, genetics, and pathogens. All PLoS articles are immediately freely accessible online, are deposited in the free public archive PubMed Central, and can be redistributed and reused according to the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.
- Science In Context
Delivers content from 150+ reference sets from Gale Encyclopedia of Science, Chemical Elements, Science in Dispute and Macmillan Science Library, as well as more than 22,000 topic overviews, 7,000 biographies, 1.5 million periodical articles from noted publications like Science Weekly, Science News and The Science Teacher, 16,000 images and videos, 170+ detailed experiments, 8,100 biographies, and two dictionaries.
- Science Reference Center (NEW)
Categorized into 21 market sectors, the statistical information within this source provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Other information with the statistics includes source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information. Many of the statsitical presentations and graphs are downloadable for cited appropriate use.
Other Useful Databases
Though the following databases are not specific only to the subject of this guide, they will have relevant and useful resources in them. Give them a try!
- Academic Search Premier
Covers a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general science, education. It provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals, plus the Wall Street Journal, New York Times and Christian Science Monitor. Full-text articles are available for 1,000+ journals, with 380+ titles from 1990-present. Academic ebooks include over 125,000 titles from leading publishers on subjects from Art, Business & Economics, Education, Language Arts & Discipline, Literary Criticism, Medical, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science, Religion, Social Science, Technology & Engineering.
- Google Scholar
A more narrow, manageable, and reliable set of information from the Google web--determined "scholarly" and thus more appropriate for research projects. Though not all results will be available for free, Google Scholar is an excellent identification tool from which you can search library databases or request articles and book chapters through Zondervan's Interlibrary Loan service. The advanced search screen allows you to specify phrases to search, words to exclude, author last names, and even subject categories.
Provides searchable full text of the complete back files for hundreds of important scholarly journals in a broad spectrum of topics and disciplines. Coverage generally includes the first volume through issues published prior to the most recent 3-5 years (current issues are not available in JSTOR).
- Find books, as well as a variety of other physical materials in the Zondervan Library, along with a plethora of online resources, like eBooks and magazine and journal articles.
- Use the Advanced search option to specify material type, language, and publication date.
- Listed under Essential Tools on the Library's home page.
- Find books, among other things, to request via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Search by Journal Title keyword for online full-text journals and to see what the Library has in print.
Finding dissertations and theses (North American)
- WorldCat provides a key resource for identifying dissertations and theses. Some of these titles can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
Further Online Research
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) provides summaries to U.S. government-sponsored research, development, and engineering and also includes some local, state, and international government-sponsored research reports. Acquiring NTIS documents can sometimes require a considerable amount of time and expense. Some of these may be available through Interlibrary Loan (see below).
- Google Books
Google's digital books provide the capability of full-text book searching to identify essays, chapters and passages of potential relevance. The majority of these still fall under copyright so only a few pages are viewable. Books not owned by Zondervan Library can be requested through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
We have collected several free web resources that are relevant for Environmental Science research. Access them on the Web Resources page.
Additional Research Tools
Should you have a need for our diverse online Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and biographies), peruse the following tools to access thousands of articles and reports available online.
- Credo Reference
A conglomeration of specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias that allows you to search for definitions and encyclopedia articles, as well as develop ideas for expanding or refining a research strategy.
- Oxford Reference
Search by keyword, or choose particular subjects and select individual Oxford Press books within which to search. Broad subject coverage.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Biography in Context
Find background information about people, authors, famous personalities, and others. Search by first or last name.
- Contemporary Authors
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
One of the least favorite aspects of research papers are the citations, documenting the sources where you gleaned your information. To make that a little easier, the Library offers a few resources.
Scientific style and format: The CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers.
Call #: Reference & Main Collections 808.066 Sci27C
Freely accessible on the web, this citation tool is an addon for Mozilla's Firefox browser, but also works in a slightly different manner with Safari and Chrome. Using Zotero you can capture citations, store them (along with the pdfs), produce bibliographies and works cited pages, and more in record time. It has an addon for MS Word to enable in-text citations and insertion of bibliographies. Recommended by librarians everywhere.
Automatically Generated Citations
can be found in most databases (like Academic Search Premier, PsycINFO, Communications and Mass Media Complete, etc.). Databases often provide an instant citation in a several different styles.
"Cite this item" within an individual item record lists the citation in APA, MLA, Chicago, and other styles.
Citation Style Guide
A specialized guide for the variety of citation styles used on this campus. Provides call numbers for print Style Manuals and Handbooks in the library as well as links to online help from several different universities around the States.
The Writing Center
Available in the Library and open 3-5p and 7-10p on Mon.-Thurs. Students can find individual guidance from English majors with any aspect of the process for writing and editing a paper, including citation questions. For more information, see their page on myTaylor, or you can contact them at email@example.com.
Created by Lana Wilson, Research Librarian
Product descriptions on this page are incorporated from reviews and product descriptions from various sources.Last revised May 09, 2013 - 02:33 PM