Confused? Need assistance? Ask-A-Librarian for help.
Music Research Guide
Unsure where to start your research? For Music courses and assignments, this is the place. Browse through the resources below to find online articles and eBooks, along with print books and other resources in the Zondervan Library.
Make an appointment with your librarian, Linda Lambert, if you would like help getting started or using Library tools.
The following collection of resources is most useful for the research of Music students. Please contact a Librarian if you have difficulty accessing any of these resources.
- International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP)
"IIMP Full Text is a music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full-text articles from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 430 international music periodicals from over 20 countries. The majority of the records for music periodicals index the most recent eight years of publication."
"Indexed articles cover the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. You can find articles on a diverse array of musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock musicians."
- IPA Source
Contains over 5000 International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
- Naxos Music Library
Provides on-demand audio streaming to over 75,000 tracks drawn from more than 5,000 CDs. While the Naxos Library consists mainly of classical music, it also provides a growing range of world/folk music, contemporary jazz, and Chinese music. You can explore the "library" by musical genre, composer, instrument, country, etc. The Naxos Library streams at 64K using Windows Media Player.
- Oxford Music Online
Offers searchable access to multiple music reference resources in one location: The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Second Edition, Revised (2006); Colin Larkin's landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music, a reference work devoted exclusively to popular music, covering rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present; and The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres.
- VAST: Academic Video Online (New!)
VAST: Academic Video Online allows students and faculty to access over 20,000 streaming videos covering the following disciplines now, with more to be added as it grows:
American history, Anthropology, Area studies, Art and architecture, Business and economics, Counseling and therapy, Criminal justice, Dance, Education, Ethnic studies, Health, Humanities, LGBT studies, Opera, Philosophy, Politics, Psychology, Religion, Science, Theatre, Women's studies, World history, and World languages and literature
Each video comes complete with keyword-searchable, synchronized transcripts. As the video plays, the transcript scrolls, and what's being spoken is highlighted. You can easily make custom clips, name them, and annotate them—then place your clips into personal playlists, include them in course folders to share and post online, cite them in papers, and embed them on Web sites.
Other Useful Databases
Though the following databases are not specific only to the subject of this guide, they will have relevant and useful resources in them. Give them a try!
- Academic Search Premier
Covers a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general science, education. It provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals, plus the Wall Street Journal, New York Times and Christian Science Monitor. Full-text articles are available for 1,000+ journals, with 380+ titles from 1990-present. Academic ebooks include over 125,000 titles from leading publishers on subjects from Art, Business & Economics, Education, Language Arts & Discipline, Literary Criticism, Medical, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science, Religion, Social Science, Technology & Engineering.
- Google Scholar
A more narrow, manageable, and reliable set of information from the Google web--determined "scholarly" and thus more appropriate for research projects. Though not all results will be available for free, Google Scholar is an excellent identification tool from which you can search library databases or request articles and book chapters through Zondervan's Interlibrary Loan service. The advanced search screen allows you to specify phrases to search, words to exclude, author last names, and even subject categories.
Provides searchable full text of the complete back files for hundreds of important scholarly journals in a broad spectrum of topics and disciplines. Coverage generally includes the first volume through issues published prior to the most recent 3-5 years (current issues are not available in JSTOR).
- Project MUSE
Offers full-text articles and some scholarly book content (essays, chapters, etc.) with very strong coverage in the humanities and social sciences.
- Find books, as well as a variety of other physical materials in the Zondervan Library, along with a plethora of online resources, like eBooks and magazine and journal articles.
- Use the Advanced search option to specify material type, language, and publication date.
- Listed under Essential Tools on the Library's home page.
- Find books, among other things, to request via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Search by Journal Title keyword for online full-text journals and to see what the Library has in print.
We have collected several free web resources that are relevant for Music research. Access them on the Web Resources page.
Additional Research Tools
Should you have a need for our diverse online Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and biographies), peruse the following tools to access thousands of articles and reports available online.
- Credo Reference
A conglomeration of specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias that allows you to search for definitions and encyclopedia articles, as well as develop ideas for expanding or refining a research strategy.
- Oxford Reference
Search by keyword, or choose particular subjects and select individual Oxford Press books within which to search. Broad subject coverage.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Biography in Context
Find background information about people, authors, famous personalities, and others. Search by first or last name.
- Contemporary Authors
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
One of the least favorite aspects of research papers are the citations, documenting the sources where you gleaned your information. To make that a little easier, the Library offers a few resources.
The Chicago Manual of Style.
Call #: Reference & Main Collections 808.042 Un3c
Freely accessible on the web, this citation tool is an addon for Mozilla's Firefox browser, but also works in a slightly different manner with Safari and Chrome. Using Zotero you can capture citations, store them (along with the pdfs), produce bibliographies and works cited pages, and more in record time. It has an addon for MS Word to enable in-text citations and insertion of bibliographies. Recommended by librarians everywhere.
Automatically Generated Citations
can be found in most databases (like Academic Search Premier, PsycINFO, Communications and Mass Media Complete, etc.). Databases often provide an instant citation in a several different styles.
"Cite this item" within an individual item record lists the citation in APA, MLA, Chicago, and other styles.
Citation Style Guide
A specialized guide for the variety of citation styles used on this campus. Provides call numbers for print Style Manuals and Handbooks in the library as well as links to online help from several different universities around the States.
The Writing Center
Available in the Library and open 3-5p and 7-10p on Mon.-Thurs. Students can find individual guidance from English majors with any aspect of the process for writing and editing a paper, including citation questions. For more information, see their page on myTaylor, or you can contact them at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Information compiled by Dan Bowell, University Librarian.
Created by Lana Wilson, Research Librarian
Product descriptions on this page are incorporated from reviews and product descriptions from various sources.Last revised May 11, 2013 - 02:55 PM