Zondervan Library Hours
Zondervan Library Hours
Monday-Thursday 8:00 a.m. - midnight
Friday 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday Noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 3:00 p.m. - midnight
Closed for Chapel MWF 10:00 - 10:50 a.m.
Hours vary for exam week.
Subject Librarian
Subject Librarian
Subject Librarian
Search Strategies
search Strategies
Introduction to Research
This page offers an overview of the best searching strategies to use when conducting research in databases or online.
If you need help navigating any EBSCOhost database (e.g., Atla Religion Database, Christian Periodical Index), look below for some example images.
Basic Search Techniques
Basic Search Techniques
Tips for Efficient Searching
- Use an * (asterisk) in your term.When applied to a root of a word, it will search for multiple forms of a word at one time.
immigra* = immigrant, immigration
polic* = policy, policies - Use Quotation Marks around a common/important phraseSometimes, your keyword is really a key phrase. Quotation marks will ensure you search those exact words in that order.
"child development" or "climate change" - Add Additional Search TermsIf you have way too many results (>200), try adding another keyword or search term.
- Use Limit/Refine optionsNarrow the number of results you need to review by limiting the date range, or to scholarly/academic journals (when needed), or to Full Text (if you want immediate access to the article itself without using Interlibrary Loan).
Limit by Source Type: journal article, newspaper, magazine, etc. - Find the PermalinkTo avoid losing access to articles (even leaving a browser open to a particular article can be lost after a few hours!), look at the Detailed Record of an item for the Permalink or Persistent Link.
Do not use the link in the address bar!
The Permalink will give permanent access to the citation or article. Save it! Email it to yourself! Copy it into a Word doc!
Boolean Search Basics
Boolean Search Basics
Boolean Operators & Examples
By using these connectors when doing searches in Library tools, you will achieve the best results.
- ANDThis will narrow your search to include all terms that are connected with AND. For example,
"spiritual formation" AND "Fowler"
requires that both terms be present in the title, abstract, or keywords of a citation. - ORThis broadens your search to include more options based on your search terms.
(college OR university) AND "Scripture Engagement" AND ("small groups" OR "discipleship groups")
Either the term college OR the term university must be present along with the phrase either "small groups" OR "discipleship groups" in the title, abstract, or keywords assigned to a citation. - NOTThis excludes a term from a search and thus helps you narrow your search results. You may find that a search may be too broad or not related to what you are seeking. The NOT operator excludes a term from the search results.
For example: "Children's ministry" AND (education NOT school)
Boolean Search Video
Searching EBSCOhost Databases
Searching EBSCOhost Databases
Searching Academic Search Premier & other EBSCOhost databases
These still images provide some captions to help you understand how to search smarter and more efficiently.
Next, try other ways of narrowing by Source Type or access the PDF Full Text of the article or request through Interlibrary Loan.
Advanced Searching Strategies
Four Advanced Search Strategies
Advanced Kinds of Search Strategies
There are four kinds of searching options. Good searchers are aware of each one and when and how to use them interchangeably or based on the database requirements.
1. Word Strings:
Can also be thought of as building-block searching. Taking major words or phrases from your topic or thesis, use them various combinations or with synonyms to search databases.
2. Boolean searching:
Uses particular words to expand or narrow your search results. (They are very useful in word strings.) See a more detailed description in the next section.
3. Changing Natural Language to Scholarly Language:
(or subject headings and sub-headings)
Scholars don’t always use words that everyone else does. Using language from your class, textbooks, and other scholarly sources can often reveal more resources. You must also use subject headings or at least be aware of them when using databases like PubMed and Medline.
4. Citation Pearl-Growing:
If you find a good and current article, try exploring the sources cited in footnotes or bibliographies. This can help you discover the primary authors who are doing research in your field, as well as other useful resources. As always, be sure to evaluate the resource. You can also use Google Scholar's Cited by feature to discover what sources have cited the item you're looking at, to trace forward in time the topic.
Accomplished and skilled researchers are able to determine basic aspects of database organization using multiple strategies like these. When researching it is useful to understand background information, bibliographies, and the vocabulary of the discipline. You should use a wide variety of tools and use them wisely, and not depend on one specific source.
Page Bottom