Skip to Main Content

Master of Arts in Ministry

Bible Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

Handbooks

What are...

Handbooks

  • Offer entries relating to people, places, customs, doctrine and biblical criticism. Entries can vary in length from very brief to in-depth studies that are multiple pages.
  • Highlight biblical text through short Bible commentaries, maps, historical backgrounds, archaeological background, tables of weights, lists of kings, and much more.
  • Illuminate aspects of the Bible for greater understanding.

Here is an example from Jamieson-Fausset-Brown Bible Commentary Genesis 9:21. "And he drank of the wine, and was drunken—perhaps at the festivities of the vintage season. This solitary stain on the character of so eminently pious a man must, it is believed, have been the result of age or inadvertency."

Biblical Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Biblical Handbooks

Note About Biblical Studies

Bible Handbooks are often located in the Main Collection and offer a variety of perspectives on biblical topics. Below are a few worth highlighting, though we have many more. Their call numbers will vary, as they are shelved according to their overall subject matter.

Search WorldCat for handbook AND Bible to see all that Zondervan has to offer.

handbook

handbook

handbook

handbook

Online Reference Tools

Online Reference Tools

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference

Offers multidisciplinary and cross-searchable dictionary and reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) - Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Provides encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Other Online Reference Resources

reference

Other Reference Resources

Biography in Context

Provides biographical information for thousands of significant people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Contemporary Authors

Provides biographical and bibliographical information and references to thousands of international authors.

STEPBible: Scripture Tools for Every Person

STEPBible: Scripture Tools for Every Person

The "STEP" in STEP Bible stands for Scripture Tools for Every Person. This free online resource containing Bibles and commentaries. Tyndale House provides oversight of STEP Bible, with Crosswire serving as a partner for software and Bible translations.