Zondervan Library Hours
Zondervan Library Hours
Monday-Thursday 8:00 a.m. - midnight
Friday 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday Noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 3:00 p.m. - midnight
Closed for Chapel MWF 10:00 - 10:50 a.m.
Hours vary for exam week.
Need Help?
Need Help?
Can't find what you are looking for or have a question?
Email us (response within 48 hours) or
Chat with us - look for the bubble icon in the lower right corner of every Library site page.
Subject Librarian
Subject Librarian
Librarian
Commentaries
Commentaries
What is a...
Commentaries provides explanation and interpretation of the Bible, typically by book, chapter and verse. They may cover one book of the Bible, several books (e.g., gospels, prophets, epistles, etc.) or all books of the Bible in one volume or set. Zondervan Library has over 2,000 Bible commentaries in print and many more in eBook format.
In WorldCat Research Station you can enter the search: bible Genesis commentaries (or change Genesis to any book of the Bible) to find commentaries on the specific passage you have chosen. Select the Limit for Print Book or eBook, depending on your need.
Commentaries located on the Upper level of the Library are available for you to check out.
Note that each book of the Bible has a unique call number and most of them are generally arranged in the same order where found in the Bible.
The readership level of commentaries varies from the very scholarly, well-researched ones to others that are designed for the lay person with non-academic language.
Bible Commentaries
Biblical Commentaries
Call numbers for commentaries
Some commentaries may cover the entire bible in one or two volumes. Some focus on one or two individual books of the Bible. Other key commentary sets have volumes covering each book individually.
These can be found in the call number area of 220.7 in the Main Collection (upstairs).
Bible Commentary
Bible Commentary
Zondervan Exegetical commentary on the New TestamentCall Number: Various Call NumbersISBN: 9780310243670
Bible Commentary
Pillar New Testament Commentary (Set of 16 Volumes) by Call Number: Various Volumes; search WorldCatISBN: 0802871275Publication Date: 2013-07-25
Bible Commentary
Other Commentaries
Other Commentaries
Bible Hub combines several kinds of sources for studying the Bible. The commentaries included in Bible Hub provide one searchable site for many resources, versions,and study guides. Note that many of the commentaries are several years old, out of copyright, and do not reflect current scholarship. For contemporary analysis of a passage or theme you should use other sources beyond this one.
Bible Gateway
Has a selection of Bible Commentaries.
Online Reference Tools
Online Reference Tools
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) - Reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Provides encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference
Offers multidisciplinary and cross-searchable dictionary and reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Other Online Reference Resources
Other Reference Resources
Provides biographical information for thousands of significant people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Provides biographical and bibliographical information and references to thousands of international authors.
STEPBible: Scripture Tools for Every Person
STEPBible: Scripture Tools for Every Person
The "STEP" in STEP Bible stands for Scripture Tools for Every Person. This free online resource containing Bibles and commentaries. Tyndale House provides oversight of STEP Bible, with Crosswire serving as a partner for software and Bible translations.