Web sites can be sources of great information...but how do you determine what is okay to use in academic papers?
Here are 4 considerations as you assess web sites for use in your assignments.
Author: Who wrote the section, and what are their credentials? What larger organization are they affiliated with? If I google them, what do I find? What is the parent web site?
Bias: Can you identify an angle/slant/bias in the article or on the larger web site? What is the purpose of the study or content—to prove something to a particular group? Can you corroborate the claims with at least 2 other sources?
Content: Is the source accurate? Are there basic mistakes in grammar, dead links, or spelling? When was it posted or last updated or published? Does it contain claims that contradict things you know to be true or even other claims within the article itself?
Support: Does the content have citations or sources? Can you verify the sources? Can you contact the author or organization?
The Art & Architecture Thesaurus ® (AAT), the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ® (TGN), and the Union List of Artist Names ® (ULAN) are structured vocabularies that can be used to improve access to information about art, architecture, and material culture.
Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
Contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship. Not all images displayed in this catalog are in the public domain, but many are.
For those who seek knowledge and inspiration from visual materials, the Picture Collection Online presents more than 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.
Since 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documentation that supports the study of the history of the visual arts in America. Includes over 16 million items, 5,000 collections, and 2,000 oral history interviews. It is the world's largest and most widely used resource on the history of art in America.
Provides definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art and visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations and cross-references. Has a Google search engine for the web site.
This extensive resource is provided by the Getty Research Institute. "BHA on the Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules, and can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements" (excerpted from a press release by Getty Communications). The main function of this site is to serve as an identification tool. While it may not have full-text articles available, it will allow you to discover them, at which point you can order them through Zondervan Library's Interlibrary Loan system. If you have questions, see a Librarian.
Its mission is to collect, preserve, study, and exhibit the Colección's e xtensive artworks and related archives, which consist primarily of modern and contemporary art, with an emphasis on Latin America. The Colección also includes Colonial Latin American art, international decorative arts, and a selection of Latin American landscapes from the seventeenth to the early twentieth century.
About Art History is an eclectic site for a variety of resources including overviews about artists and periods in art history, timelines in art history, museums, exhibitions and a host of other resources.
The site, containing some 450,000 images is dedicated to visual material useful for teaching and learning Art History and adjacent areas. Artwork (but not publicly visitable architecture) from about the period of World War II onward is excluded for copyright reasons. The great majority of images are conventional stills, but there are ongoing experiments with panoramas and with stereo, and also with hotspotted and zoomable presentations of individual artworks and sites. Art & Architecture mainly from the Mediterranean Basin, Japan, India & Cambodia.
The American Memory Historical Collections, a major component of the Library's National Digital Library Program, are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections. There are more than 90 collections in the American Memory Historical Collections.
Searchable database of 3,500+ objects including 50 highlights from each of the Museum's curatorial departments as well as the entire department of European Paintings; searchable by artist, period, style, or keyword. Of particular note is the Timeline of Art History - a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the museum's collection.
Spanning a wide range of visual media, NYPL Digital Gallery offers thousands of digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of the Research Libraries, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences. Collections cover artworks and objects, creators, dance, design, furniture, motion pictures, music, ornament, performance, spectacle, theatre, advertising, bookbinding, dust jackets, friendship books, menus, post cards, posters, trade and greeting cards.
Large and growing database (and presentation tool) of digital images in the arts, humanities and social sciences. The image collections (almost 500,000 images) cover architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual materials. All periods and many cultures are represented.