Here is an easy way to remember what to look for when evaluating the information that you find. These questions will help you assess what you might find most useful.
CARS: Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, Support
Credibility. Is this source trustworthy? What are the author’s credentials? Is he or she known or a respected authority on this topic? Is there evidence of quality control? Goal: an authoritative source, a source that supplies some good evidence that allows you to trust it.
Accuracy. Is the informatio up to date, factual, detailed, exact, comprehensive? What is the intended audience and purpose? Does it reflect intentions of completeness and accuracy. Goal: a source that is correct today (not yesterday), a source that gives the whole truth.
Reasonableness. Is the presentation fair, balanced, objective, reasoned? Can you find that the author has no conflict of interest? Is there an absence of fallacies or slanted tone. Goal: a source that engages the subject thoughtfully and reasonably, concerned with the truth.
Support: Does this information provide backgroundsources or references? Is there contact information for the author? Are claims supported, documentated and corroborated?. Goal: a source that provides convincing evidence for the claims made, a source you can triangulate (that is are you able to find at least two other sources (non web) that support it).
The Law Library of Congress and Google teamed up on a collaborative pilot project to digitize the Law Library's entire collection of 75,000 volumes of printed Congressional Hearings. The intent of this initial digitization project is to produce browsable, text-readable versions of these hearings and to make them available as quickly as possible. Currently, the site contains three thematic collections that cover hearings on the U.S. Census, freedom of information, and immigration.
Provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. This free service is funded by the Federal Depository Library Program and has grown out of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993.
Sponsored by the MBC--Museum of Broadcast Communications-this web site presents an interactive multimedia celebration of over forty years of television and politics. Including the entirety of the Kennedy-Nixon debates of 1960, and clips, photos, and news items of each following presidential debate, it recounts the history of televised elections. Has a curriculum resource center with lesson plans and activities that promote learning in the social sciences and language arts.
Offers extensive research on historical and current information of U.S. Presidents. Has over 85,000 documents available through searches, including speeches, official papers, executive orders, proclamations, news conferences, and more. Definitely worth a perusal when you need information on Presidents.
This site has made available more than 160,000 hours of federal government events from 1987 to the present. Can search by topic, series, congressional committee, and most recent or most popular programs. Unique resource for U.S. federal government.
The Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. The reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The documents include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate.
The American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The collection includes documents that cover the critical historical gap from 1789 to the printing of the first volume of the U.S. Serial Set in 1817. The books are arranged into ten topical classes or series: Foreign Relations, Indiana Affairs, Post Office, Naval Affairs, Finance, Public Lands, Commerce and Navigation, Claims, Military Affairs and Miscellaneous
The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
Through the OKR, The World Bank collects, disseminates, and permanently preserves its intellectual output in digital form. The OKR also increases the range of people who can discover and access Bank content—from governments and civil society organizations (CSOs), to students and the general public.
The OKR contains thousands of research works including:
World Bank Group Annual Reports and Independent Evaluation Studies
Books published by the World Bank Group including flagship publications, academic books and practitioner volumes;
All World Development Reports (WDRs) plus recent WDR background papers;
Journal articles published in World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO), two journals published by Oxford University Press on behalf of the World Bank;
Accepted manuscripts of Bank-authored journal articles from selected external publishers (after an embargo period if applicable);
Metadata and links to Bank-authored external journal articles;
Serial publications (typically data-intensive outlook reports);
Policy Research Working Papers (PRWP)—a series of papers that disseminate findings of work in progress in order to encourage the exchange of ideas about development issues;
Selected other papers of high research quality;
Economic and Sector Work (ESW) studies—a series of analytical reports prepared by Bank staff. ESWs gather and evaluate information about a country’s economy and/or a specific sector;
Knowledge Notes, providing short briefs that capture lessons of experience from Bank operations and research;
The latest Country Opinion Surveys done in client countries for feedback on World Bank Group activities.
Selected translated titles.
"The National Map is now offering a collection of small-scale datasets that can be downloaded for free...Small-scale maps have an advantage over large-scale maps when there is a need to show a large area in a single view. This makes small-scale maps an ideal solution for scientists, decision-makers, and planners needing to provide a geographical context for the research projects. Generally, certain geographical and feature details found in large-scale maps are limited or omitted in small-scale maps. The choice of small-scale maps always comes down to the intended use of the final map.
The National Map collection of 197 small-scale datasets can be downloaded at small-scale data download page" (home page).