Step 1: Develop a research question. Be as specific as possible. Example: What are the effects of hydration on performance levels of female cross-country runners.
Step 2: Highlight key words within the body of the question. What are the effects of hydration on performance levels of female cross-country runners?
Step 3: Find a good overview of the topic when possible. This does not mean looking at journal articles. Background information may be found in textbooks or reference resources such as CREDO.
What are the key words for the following search:
EXAMPLE: What does the recent literature suggest regarding the correlation between concussion/brain damage in (American) football (not soccer) and cognition? What are common strategies for prevention of concussions?
Proprietary databases to which Taylor University subscribes have distinctive differences from search engines such as Google or Google Scholar. A database, generally, is a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval of subject matter, specifically scholarly subject matter. They tend to be narrower in scope than Google or Google Scholar.
Prominent features of proprietary databases generally:
Zondervan Library subscribes to over 75 research databases that contain journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on both general and specific disciplines. There are pros and cons for each option. Awareness of the content, organization, precision of search capabilities can save you time and yield the most appropriate and relevant results.
For more information see What is a library database? (Western Oregon University) http://www.wou.edu/provost/library/clip/tutorials/lib_database.htm
Call numbers will indicate where an item is in the Library based on its collection.
The Library has more eBooks than Print books on our shelves. This marks a big change in how Libraries do business and how people read books.
Search these two collections of eBooks to discover the wide variety of books available online.