Skip to Main Content

Zondervan Library: Virtual Library Research Session

For the duration of suspended in-person classes, the Zondervan Library will support students and faculty with coursework and projects virtually. This page highlights services, resources, and contacts that you may need or want to explore in the weeks to co

Virtual Library Research Session

 

With the current variety course delivery methods, the Zondervan Library is committed to supporting students and faculty both in-person and online. This page provides videos that cover some of the basic research strategies, tools, and information needed to get started with 100-200 level course research.

 

Note from the
Academic Engagement Librarian

 

Welcome!   

Your Taylor University Librarians are working full-time to be of assistance to you during this challenging time.  It is our hope, through the following tutorials, to provide you with the same information virtually which you would receive in a face-to-face library research session.

Good luck with your research! 

Do not hesitate to ask for help, and stay safe.

 

1. Developing Keywords

1. Background Research / Pre-Research

 

It is very difficult to write about a topic you know little to nothing about. This tutorial focuses on background research or what is sometimes known as "pre-research." Background research allows you to explore your general area of interest so you can begin to form a more focused research topic.

 

2. Developing Keywords

 

While you can type just about anything into Google and get back some sort of response, research databases can take a bit more skill.  This is because databases give you considerably more control, helping you not only to just find information, but also to find the best and most relevant information.  This tutorial will help you break a topic sentence down into usable keywords.

 

3. Accessing Online Resources

 

This tutorial will show you how to access the tools offered by the Zondervan Library from one convenient location.

 

4. What Are Scholarly Databases?

4. What Are Scholarly Databases?

 

This tutorial discusses the concepts of scholarly databases, journals, and articles, distinguishing between full-text and citation only databases.  The dissemination and publication of scholarship is also addressed.

 

 

 

5. Database Searching

5. Database Searching Overview

 

This tutorial introduces the nuts and bolts of database searching using Academic Search Premier, a database which searches most subject areas and provides a substantial number of full-text articles.  The skills demonstrated in this tutorial are also generally transferable to our other scholarly databases.

 

6. Evaluating Resources using T.R.A.A.P.

 

This tutorial employs a memorable acronym to present useful criteria for evaluating the timeliness, accuracy, reasonableness, and support provided by a particular article.

 

7. Finding Full-Text Articles by Citation

 

This tutorial addresses how to take an article citation from a works cited list or an external tool such as Google Scholar and find the desired article within our scholarly databases.

 

8. Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

 

This tutorial explains Interlibrary Loan (ILL), which allows you to borrow articles and books from other libraries around the world at no cost to you.

 

Library FAQs

 

Recently, we have added a growing list of entries to our FAQ guide, if you need help or guidance outside of our hours. 

Please visit the LibAnswers - FAQ page. We hope to add more entries daily!