College Composition (ENG 110)

Have you ever found a resource you wanted to use for a paper but Zondervan Library did not have it?

Interlibrary Loan is a great tool that allows you to request articles that Zondervan Library can borrow from other libraries.

The process is outlined below.

1. Sign Up For An ILLiad Account
   • Sign up for an ILLIAD account using the link here: https://ezproxy.taylor.edu/login?url=https://taylor.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/illiad.dll  
   • This link can also be found on the Zondervan Library home page under Interlibrary Loan.
2. Search For The Specific Article In Desired Database
   • Example using SocINDEX: Journal Title: Child: Care, Health & Development. Article Title: Exposure of children with developmental delay to social determinants of poor health: cross-sectional case record review study. Author: E. Emerson and P. Brigham. Date: March 2015. Volume 41, Issue 2, Pages 249-257.
   • DOI: 10.1111/cch.12144
3. Check To See If It Is In Another Zondervan Library Database
   • Copy the journal abbreviation in Google or use the DOI to determine the exact title. Cut and paste this title into Journal Finder located on the main Zondervan Library page.
   • This verifies that we do not own the title in full text in another ZL database. This is an essential step that saves time.
   • If Zondervan Library owns or has access to the item in full text form it will not be delivered to you through your ILLIAD account. The Interlibrary Loan department may inform you that we have access to it by email as a courtesy to you, but this is not guaranteed. You will ultimately have to redo a search.
4. Send Request
   • IF Zondervan Library does not have the article, please submit an ILLiad Request. Use the easy to find link to interlibrary loan—Borrow this item from another library (Interlibrary Loan)
   • You can then import the needed information into a blank ILLiad form and submit the request.

NOTE!: You do NOT need or want to order any article directly from a publisher. The access to articles this way is very costly. Zondervan is usually able to obtain the item from a local college or university for free or in some cases we have accounts for purchasing on- demand articles. Let us find it for you, in most cases at a more reasonable cost that what Science Direct, Elsevier or other publishers will charge.

DOI=digital object identifier

It is a permanent identifier that will take you straight to a document no matter where it’s located on the Internet. When available they are usually part of the citation or on the main or first page of an article.

Before you begin looking for a DOI for your article you should know: 

1. Not all articles have a DOI number.
   • While the majority of articles published today do have DOI numbers, most older articles -more than two years old-- do not. Some publishers are adding DOIs to older articles. 
2. While some library databases provide the DOI number as part of the article's citation, this is not consistent across databases. 
   • When you have a DOI number you can use a DOI locator to link you to the article (sometimes in full text or sometimes just the citation.)
   • DOI Locators:
     • CrossRef.org.
     • DOI.org
3. Here are some basic guidelines from APA Publication Manual (6th edition) for citing electronic sources.
   • For print or electronic journals, include the issue number only when the journal is paginated separately by issue.
   • The retrieval date and database information are not needed for articles retrieved from online sources. Instead, include the article's DOI.
   • If there is no DOI, provide the URL for the journal homepage as the second choice. The retrieval date is not required in this type of reference.
   • In the rare instances that the journal does not have its own homepage (such as for older journals no longer in print but converted to online documents), provide (a) the database homepage or (b) the name of the database and the accession number.
   • A retrieval date is only needed in the reference list for non-journal instances where material might change at a later date.
   • For online newspaper and magazine articles you need not provide the specific page number, retrieval date, or exact article URL. You would provide only the periodical's home page.