Art

Religion & Humanities

History

All Databases

You may need to find more in-depth resources, for example, articles that highlight research being done on your topic. You can pick from 100+ databases with content, divided by subject area (e.g., Psychology databases, Business databases, Sports databases).

Most of the information found through these resources cannot be accessed using a generic Google Web search. 

Social Issues

Multiple Subjects

Journal Finder

Databases to which Taylor University subscribes have distinctive differences from search engines such as Google or Google Scholar. A database, generally, is a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval of subject matter, specifically scholarly subject matter. They tend to be narrower in scope than Google or Google Scholar. 

Prominent features of these subscription databases generally include:

• Covering specific discipline area/s.

• Including academic (peer-reviewed) articles from journals or magazines, eBooks, newspapers, images and research related resources.

• Providing citation information on or full-text access to the item types listed above.

• Accessible because of subscription for which Zondervan pays. Whereas Google is free, databases can be many thousands of dollars per year.

Zondervan Library subscribes to over 100 research databases/tools that contain journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, as well as reports and other written materials on both general and specific disciplines. There are pros and cons for using each tool. Awareness of the content, organization, and precision of search capabilities of each can save you time and yield the most appropriate and relevant results.