Education
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowStarting research point for education research, from preschool to college.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowBroad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects.
Related Academic Databases
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Other Academic Research Tools
Other Academic Research Tools
- Zondervan Library's Full Databases ListNot seeing a discipline you need represented on this page? Head over to the complete list of Zondervan's online databases and look at them by Subject area, using the dropdown Subject menu at the top of the page.
Psychology & Social Sciences
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- PubPsychThis is a free, open-access database that includes over 2 million psychology publications, test procedures, intervention programs, and research data sets. Some full-text articles are available.
- Buros Mental Measurements YearbookView the psychological tests that have been reviewed in every Buros Mental Measurements Yearbook to date. The index is in alphabetical order in the format of “[Title of Test], [#th MMY]”. It is also useful to view the test directly from the publishing source (i.e. Pearson) for information on demographics, subtests, and costs of the test itself.
Medical & Health
- Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition This link opens in a new window
- Health Source This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Journal Finder
Databases to which Taylor University subscribes have distinctive differences from search engines such as Google or Google Scholar. A database, generally, is a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval of subject matter, specifically scholarly subject matter. They tend to be narrower in scope than Google or Google Scholar.
Prominent features of these subscription databases generally include:
- Covering specific discipline area/s.
- Including academic (peer-reviewed) articles from journals or magazines, eBooks, newspapers, images and research related resources.
- Providing citation information on or full-text access to the item types listed above.
- Accessible because of subscription for which Zondervan pays. Whereas Google is free, databases can be many thousands of dollars per year.
Zondervan Library subscribes to over 100 research databases/tools that contain journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, as well as reports and other written materials on both general and specific disciplines. There are pros and cons for using each tool. Awareness of the content, organization, and precision of search capabilities of each can save you time and yield the most appropriate and relevant results.