The library catalog can be found on the main library page. The "Books and Media" search will allow you to search both eBooks and print books. All of the searching tips and tricks can be used to build a search in the catalog.
Databases are a premium tool for finding scholarly resources to support your research. Databases offer a myriad of ways to build and limit searches so you can find relevant sources quickly and efficiently. The searching tips and tricks will help you to become a proficient searcher who can navigate databases with ease.
Online Archival Collections - There are a large number of online archival collections that include specific people, professions, organizations, etc. These are invaluable for finding primary sources for your topic.
Google Scholar - "is a Web search engine that specifically searches scholarly literature and academic resources." You can find in-depth information about Google Scholar here. Unlike a Google search which searches the open Web, Google Scholar searches the same academic content available in library databases. It will have overlap with the library and show if your library has the item available (provided you are connected to the university). Google Scholar does offer advanced searching, however, its capabilities are not as 'in-tune' as searching a library database will be, so while it has its place, I don't recommend it for beginning researchers.
Websites - depending on your topic and/or discipline, a website may be an appropriate, citable, resource for a project or paper. The key is to always follow your professor's instructions and learn how to evaluate resources thoroughly.
eBooks can be found through searching the library catalog or through searching databases. Zondervan library has databases with collections of eBooks.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- EBSCO eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- Overdrive Christian Library Consortium eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- eBook High School, K-8, and Public Library Collections This link opens in a new window
There are also Open Access eBook collections available.
WorldCat can allow you to search Zondervan's collection or you can search libraries worldwide.
Begin by typing in search terms.
- Related terms can be connected with OR to search both at one time.
- Major concepts of your topic can been connected with AND.
- Save time searching by using an asterisk. The (*) on [immigra* AND polic*] will look for any number of endings for those root words.
- immigra* = immigrant, immigration
- polic* = policy, policies
