Archival Collections

A portal with millions of open-access items from archives, libraries, and museums across the U.S.

U.S. historic newspapers 1690-1963.

Items from the Library of Congress and partner institutions globally, in many languages.

Includes many religious manuscripts, liturgical works etc.

Includes religious / theological writings among its holdings.

Includes environmental, natural history collections among its digitized materials.

The official repository for permanent state records, including those from state environmental agencies like the Department of Environmental Management (IDEM).

A comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.

The Penn Libraries has been a federal depository library for U.S. government documents since at least the 19th century, and also a United Nations depository, and a partial depository for Pennsylvania state documents. Historic collections from the League of Nations and the Organization of American States, and comprehensive historic runs of British parliamentary papers, in addition to similar historic legislative document series from French and German national bodies, are also available in print, online, and microform formats.

The Hoover Institution Library & Archives digital collections contains over 1 million digital objects including posters, photographs, texts, sound recordings, and moving images, with new items frequently added.

Includes research on education policy.

Some of the archival items relate to school records, oral histories about education, etc.

A guide to primary (and secondary) research resources for literary studies in English.

Created as an archive of the work of contemporary English and American writers who were considered critically underappreciated and whose reputations might grow further in the years to come.

This is a selection of literature-related digital collections and digital humanities projects available for free on the web.

This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Includes many visual/digital collections among their manuscripts.

the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) is the world’s largest repository of manuscripts, books, media, and artifacts relevant to the history of psychology and related human sciences.

Archival collections of APA - the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States.

Search across many UK archives, many sociologically relevant documents.

A portal with millions of open-access items from archives, libraries, and museums across the U.S.

Download or listen to free movies, films, and videos

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.